(1780? –The beginning of the XIX century)
Yakut industrialist, served as the head of the
cooperative of the merchants Seeds and Lev Syrovatskikh. He
was a very courageous, enterprising and inquisitive person who had
spent his whole life wandering around the Arctic. With
them or with his participation four islands of arch were discovered. Novosibirsk
Born in Ust-Jansk in the Russian family of the embattled. From
a young age, Sannikov began to be engaged in a vital business for
northerners - the trade of fur-bearing animals on the coast and
In 1800, returning from the island
of Small Lyakhovsky, he discovered and described the island
of Stolbovoy in the
Laptev Sea. This
island was discovered in 1690-1691 by Yakut Cossack Maxim Mukhoplyov,
who found many crosses there - evidence of his earlier visits by
Russian sailors. The
name of the island is given on high mountains and its small area.
Island Stolbovoy, Cape Rocky
(photo by N. M. Stolbov)
In 1805, Sannikov discovered the Faddeevsky
Island, initially called the “Land Opened by Sannikov”. Then
they wanted to call him the “Land of Rumyantsev” in honor of the
State Chancellor N. P. Rumyantsev, who initiated the organization in
1808 of an expedition to the Novosibirsk Islands under the command
of M.M. Hedenstrom. The
final name is given by the name of industrialist Stepan Faddeev, who
organized the first winter hut there.
In 1806, together with Syrovatsky, Sannikov took part in a trip
to the east of Faddeevsky Island, during which a large island was
discovered, later called Hedenstrom New
Since 1808, Sannikov was part of the Hedenstrom expedition. Sannikov
became the right hand of the expedition's head, who taught him how
to handle the compass and the visual observation of the terrain, and
instructed him to explore the strait between Kotelny and Faddeyevsky
the spring of 1809, he crossed it in several directions and
determined the width, but did not establish that the space between
the islands was not a strait. The
summer of 1809 was devoted to exploring the island of New Siberia. In
1811, with the surveyor P. Pshenitsyn, Sannikov walked around
Faddeevsky Island and only then established that it was connected to
the Kotel'niy island by lowland, surprisingly flat sandy
space, which in winter time was taken by them as the sea strait. This
area was called "Sand", later renamed the Land
After 1811, the traces of Sannikov are lost, and his further fate
remains unclear. The
only information not verified by anyone about the possible burial
site of Sannikov is contained in the book of the polar pilot Alexei
Nikolaevich Gratsiansky “Lessons
of the North”. In
1935, he performed flights in the lower reaches of the Lena:
we waited bad weather in Kyusyur. There
was nothing to do, and Lisovskiy (the head of the airbase — note of
Avetisov) proposed to take a short excursion to the tundra along the
Bulunka river. We
were accompanied by two of his boys and a riding dog-leader, who
enjoyed special privileges and this time running without a leash. Our
owners looked at each other as conspirators, apparently decided to
surprise us with something. Zaitsev
and Mokhov (the mechanic and radio operator) and I obediently
followed them, squinting from the harsh wind, looking at the broods
of birds scurrying around in the bushes. But
now Lisovsky spread the branches, and we saw the stone tombstone of
the old work and the inscription "Yakov Sannikov". So
here it is, the grave of the pioneer Sannikov, who at the end of the
nineteenth century began to explore the far polar lands”.
Unfortunately, having received such unique
information, the honored pilot didn’t give further progress, and now
go and check .... Approximately the same situation was when
searching for the grave of S.A. Levanevskiy.
The historical paradox is that, having made a great contribution
to the discovery and description of real geographical objects,
Sannikov first of all went down in history thanks to the
non-existent “Sannikov Land”.
In 1810, he “saw land with high mountains” from the northern
coast of the island of New Siberia, but because of the polynya he
could not reach it. Perhaps
it was the island
discovered in 1881 by the expedition of J.
In 1811, from the northern coast of the Faddeyevsky Island, he
“saw unknown land” at a distance, in his opinion, 45 miles away. Subsequent
expeditions did not confirm its existence.
In the same year, 1811, already from the northern shore of the
Kotel'niy Island in the northwestern direction, he “saw” that very
land, which was named “Sannikov Land” and glorified it. Many
outstanding researchers believed in its existence for many years. The
question of Sannikov Land was finally removed from the agenda only
in the 1930s.
Sannikov’s appreciation was given by many well-known polar
researchers and geographers. He
was the one who commissioned the completion of the expedition to
The first Russian round-the-world navigatorI.F. Krusenstern
and Academician V.A. Obruchev.
spoke of him with admiration.
Sannikov Strait from the northern coast of the island
Small Lyakhovsky. Sunny
the islands of Anjou and Lyakhovsky. Initially,
a member of the expedition E.V. Toll in
1902, F.A.Mathisen called
him the name of the expedition doctor Viktor Nikolayevich
name did not stick. The
modern name first appeared on the map of K.A. Vollosovich in
1935, the Soviet government approved it.
The river in
the north of the island
Kotel'niy archipelago Novosibirsk Islands.
first appeared in 1811 on the map of the expedition of M. M.
on the Bolshoy Lyakhovsky Island of the Novosibirsk Islands